Women Who Empower Other Women

Sometimes the best people to help women and girls in general during their hard times are women themselves. There are many women in the world who have done something, no matter how big or small, in order to help other women find themselves and find solutions to their problems. Female empowerment has become something of major focus in the modern world, which makes everyone less worried. Below are some women who did something towards this sort of gender empowerment.

Little Mix with their song “Shout Out to My Ex”

Jade Thirwall, member of Little Mix, admits that Shout Out To My Ex “is a song that we’re sure loads of people can relate to. It’s all about moving on after a relationship ends to bigger and better things, and leaving the past where it should be.

screenshot.png

Khloe Kardashian’s Figure Against Body-Shamers

“Not to be vain, but I have nice long legs, so I like to accentuate them. Find what part of your body you love most – it can be your arms, your chest, your legs – and emphasize that.”

kj.png

Selena Gomez’s AMAs Speech

Selena Gomez had disappeared for the whole of over 3 months, ending her tour due to mental health issues, she claimed. She won the award for Favourite Female Artist in the pop/rock genre at the American Music Awards where her both physical and verbal comeback was speechless.

“I don’t want to see your bodies on Instagram. I want to see what’s in here [puts hand over heart]. I’m not trying to get validation, not do I need it anymore. […] But if you are broken, you do not have to stay broken.”

selena-gomez-hates-justin-bieber

Demi Lovato’s Photo Shoot Against Body-Shamers

Demi Lovato decided, although a long time ago, to spontaneously organise a photo shoot with a Vanity Fair photographer that involved showing off her body and letting everyone know that she is perfectly content with the way she looks.

“I think that women who know who they are are beautiful.”

ss01-demi-lovato-patrick-ecclesine-vf

Emma Watson Becoming UN Women Goodwill Ambassador

Emma Watson was appointed UN Women Goodwill Ambassador in July 2014 and made a speech at a special event for the HeForShe campaign.

“I started questioning gender-based assumptions when at eight I was confused at being called ‘bossy’ because I wanted to direct the plays we would put on for our parents—but the boys were not. When at 14 I started being sexualized by certain elements of the press. When at 15 my girlfriends started dropping out of their sports teams because they didn’t want to appear ‘muscly.’ When at 18 my male friends were unable to express their feelings. […] Apparently I am among the ranks of women whose expressions are seen as too strong, too aggressive, isolating, anti-men and, unattractive. […] I am from Britain and think it is right that as a woman I am paid the same as my male counterparts. I think it is right that I should be able to make decisions about my own body. I think it is right that women be involved on my behalf in the policies and decision-making of my country. I think it is right that socially I am afforded the same respect as men. But sadly I can say that there is no one country in the world where all women can expect to receive these rights.”

emmawatson.jpg

Cassey Ho (Blogilates) As a Fitness Instructor 

Cassey Ho, better known as Blogilates, is a famous fitness instructor who makes YouTube videos, reaching over 3 million subscribers. Her constantly positive mood is vibrant in her videos.

“When you feel good, you feel that you look good, and then you perform even better. It’s an amazing cycle.”

27d4534d00000578-3049375-image-a-4_1429646031791

Nonetheless, these were only some of the impactful women who have tried to spread awareness about the oppression some women can face, whether that is in regard to their appearance features like their weight, or whether that has to do with their freedom and right such as those to education and gender equality. There are so many more women that are included in this massive global projects, like Malala Yousafzai and Michelle Obama, yet the list would go on for too long. However, it is a very calming effect that these women are having on the rest of us women. I am thankful to them and hope more will stand up.

Article by Bianca Lazar
Leave a Comment

